Where I went, And then there was me.

As most of you know, In late July I took a break from Social Media. This post can be found under “Where I’m going”.
All in all, I have to say it was pretty great. It was hard at times but more often than not I found myself clearheaded and focused for once.

Will I return to my days of Facebook and twitter trolling, Instagram filtered mania?

Too soon to say. I can’t explain it but I really like this whole “gone offline” thing. It’s done wonders for my brain.

I’ve always had a thing for making lists. So, here’s a touch what I did for those thirty days:

-Was more productive at work.

 

-Edited old choppy blog posts.

-Read 3 books in 3 weeks (You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero, WILD by Cheryl Strayed, & To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.)

-Shot videos and learned how to properly use a “Selfie-stick.” Don’t hate on it.

-Went canoeing in Hickory, PA, got eaten alive by bugs but I have to say this off-road lake by my close family friend’s place is a slice of heaven. It’s my new favorite place.

-Bought a paddleboard. (Yes it was on sale because summer is pretty much over. Yes it’s because i’m cheap.)

-Took a little 2 week vacation/staycation. To those who spent nights alone in the atrium playing Apple to apples and rolling on the floor holding their stomach’s with me those two weeks, all those rounds of charades and deep talks have been more healing to me than the purpose of the vacation itself. My heart belongs to you all, 13th floor. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

-Stuck up for the odd man out in a conversation where I would normally join in and roast someone who didn’t deserve it (Started to find my own voice which is a big step for ya girl.)

-Made a bad decision that lead to a bunch of other great decisions, so I’m thankful for the lesson, despite the pain that passed through.

-Became content with solitude. I enjoyed that internal peace.

-FINALLY (!!!) nailed crow pose in yoga. Only took me like, 3 years. It’s all good.

-Attended a 2 hour Yoga workshop where a Pink Floyd band played in the background. It was as magical as it sounds and also I am x10 more flexible than before. Yoga points? Yoga points.

-Ran a Steelers 5k in 32 minutes and 17 seconds. Another really cool thing.

-Took my Pup for a swim in the Creek. Then gave him a bath, and then we took a long, long nap. It was a perfect Saturday.

-Took a break from working on the apartment. Life happens.

-Met with a student advisor about grad school and received much better feedback than I had originally anticipated.

-Checked my phone less. It was glorious and freeing to not feel like I had to give updates every single minute and keep in constant contact.

-Started the whole, tupperware, 5 meals a day thing to build a tiny bit more muscle. I also have discovered that I am horrible at cooking chicken.

-Hadda, Haddae, Haddi, Ha, He Hadu.-Mantra I learned in Sanskirt which translates to “I let go of what no longer serves me, And I welcome everything I am becoming.”

-Goat Milk facial masks. They look like someone put ham on their face and cut holes for eyes and a mouth and for 20 minutes you look like Leatherface from TCSM but after your skin is refreshed and jubilant and suddenly it’s a great excuse to laydown with a wet napkin over your face for 20 minutes.

-Listened to new music and found old CD’s. (David Bowie, Space Oddity has my heart… And check out The New Basement Tapes—“Down On The Bottom”)

-Saw a band “MacSabbath” A cover band of Black Sabbath dressed as McDonald’s characters. I can’t make this stuff up, guys. It was a night to remember. But free music and beer? You know I can’t say no.

-Wrote a very extensive 5 page letter, put it in a water bottle and then threw it away.I also received a few hand written letters, and anyone who knows me knows how much letters mean to me.

-Dyed my hair red. It was fierce. And sexified to the upteenth degree. Sadly, Red in your hair fades the fastest. Would I do it again? YES.

-I let go of a lot of things and people in my life. I was worried about typing this because I’m still afraid of over sharing. I am still afraid of judgement. I know some situations can never be fully mended  and eventually things will work themselves out. In this same breadth, I can say that I finding myself this whole time, while trying to seek acceptance from anyone who showed me the slightest bit of attention. Some people don’t deserve all of you in their lives. “Deserve”, as I have come to realize, is a very complex concept to me.

-I was also really upfront with people and noted the reactions I got. Often times, we want to hear what we want to hear and that’s it. “You can’t handle the truth!!!!” is a real concept.

But then you handle it anyway and move on.

-Currently working on my 4th book, “The Importance of Music to Girls” by  Lavina Greenlaw. I want to start a book club or write a review for the helluvit.

There were a bunch of other happenings, of course, some that are slipping my mind at the moment. If you’d like to know what I did, what I’ve learned, just ask. I really recommend going offline, similar to the feeling of going on a run without headphones (yikes)

…It makes you deal with yourself in many ways. Which leads me to my last tidbit of info-I made a little for fun mini teaser of my adventures of while I went offline. It can be found here, on my YouTube where I will occasionally Vlog, post acting monologue, or snippets of things I find interesting.

I hope it inspires someone else to take that big step of stepping away from all the chaos of Logging on, and instead step into themselves.

Love always,

-C

And Then There Was Me

 

 

 

Author:

Launched in 2014 as a community for creative thinkers, bloggers, and those with eyes and an open heart, this CaraFranMin is a quickly growing collective of go-getters from around Pittsburgh. My hopes for this account is to promote a more honest, and raw type of writing among young people. To speak up about the things that aren't always easy to talk about, and to get real with others. I've always loved telling, sharing, and writing stories. The way I see it--This is what life is all about- human connection and how our passion molds us into the people we become. I am fascinated by what makes people tick, those who go the distance and follow their true calling. Any chance to get to know others better, make them feel inspired or turn their day around, I'm in. Some noteworthy things about me include: There is a constant stream of song lyrics going through my mind at all times. I'm an avid people watcher. An overly friendly introvert. Die hard Coffee lover and expert "I KNOW THIS SONG" -er. And I am obsessed with my Golden Retriever, Theodore. Catch me at Carnegie Coffee Company on the weekends, or somewhere floating on my paddleboard around the Burgh.

One thought on “Where I went, And then there was me.

  1. You are, always have been, and always will be one of if not the most wonderful person I’ve ever been blessed to meet. You’re beautiful inside and out. I’m constantly in awe at how insanely wonderful a soul you are. Stay golden. Stay gorgeous. I love you and I miss you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

